Posted At : April 19, 2005 12:38 PM | Posted By : Cameron
Related Categories:
Misc This post is in reply to being contacted by the owner of edelina.com from the post Macromedia and/or FullAsAGoog RSS Feeds Being Used By Spammers. Eduard's reply to me can be found in the comments section of that post.
---
Eduard, Thanks for posting the comment (and sending me the email). Good to see you are also reading the blogs you are hijacking! To answer your questions:
1) edelina.com's whois contains fake domain registration info, usually a sign someone is trying to hide something, and a good indicator that something shady is going on.
2) Hijacked URLs made to be SES URLS - While the edelina.com homepage does currently appear to replicate much of the functionality as fullasagoog.com - I notice that a few things have been changed, including the removal of several self referencing links and a link through URL format that was clearly re-writing the titles of blog postings into URLs that appeared to be legitimate pages.
This modification of URLs is often called "search engine safe URLS" and is used to make the links/pages appear to be a real HTML page on the site and not a generated page. For most sites this is a legitimate thing to do. The problem is that you were making search engine safe URLs for MY content (and other bloggers). Effectively attempting to make the search engines index it as if it were on your content on your site. This is the very definition of Google Hijacking.
If all you were doing was tracking clickthroughs as you say, why go to the trouble to attempt fooling the search engines into thinking the content was a page on your site? Also, oddly, fullasagoog.com seems to be counting clickthroughs without hijacking - so it's not so hard to accomplish.
3) Searching "Abadon Studio" in Google reveals a ton of sites which are google bomb factories with tons of sometimes unrelated keywords including "Abadon Studio". This is typically the calling card of a less then legitimate SEO operation, and not that of a design shop (which abadonstudio.com claims to be)
4) Spam on edelina.com - Taking a look at edelina.com's history, it's easy to see that it's previously been used for a page called "Receive A FREE Personalized Quote By A Local Licensed Agent!".
That's pretty spammy and shows a willingness to transform this site into a huge junk magnet in the past, and a willingness to do it again in the future.
5) As to why I didn't email you at all, well... I don't normally negotiate with spammers, I just block them out. Given the overwhelming quantity of evidence above, I didn't really see any reason to have contacted you.
In the end though, I am glad that you did contact me. It shows a willingness (perhaps) to change, and recognize the fault of what you did whether it be intentional or unintentional (which I hope it was). I also applaud the changes you made to the links on your site, thought I note that you've left the Google hijacking links active so that they won't fall out of the search engines. That's not so honest.